Model assessment · Conair

Conair Turbo ExtremeSteam Steam & Press (GS59X; page SKU GS59L) review

A champagne handheld steamer with five steam settings, a built-in creaser and a 3-in-1 attachment; Conair states up to 20 minutes of steam per fill.

Sources checked 2026-10-29 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Champagne-and-white Conair GS59X handheld steamer with wide quilted plate, five-setting controls, clear reservoir and cord.
Official champagne GS59X image from the Conair product page; verify model and package on the offer. Conair official manufacturer product image
A useful fit for

A handheld board-free garment-steaming arrangement with five selectable steam settings and a manufacturer-stated up-to-20-minute steam time, when tank capacity is not a hard requirement.

The main tradeoff

The exact page and GS59-family manual do not state tank volume or dual-voltage support. The 20-minute figure is a maker maximum, not independently measured, and it must not be used to infer a larger reservoir than the distinct blue GS38R.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does GS59X meet a 20-minute manufacturer-stated steam-time minimum?

The exact Conair page says up to 20 minutes of continuous steam. It reaches a 20-minute minimum as a maker-published maximum, but the finder does not turn that claim into a measured or guaranteed result for every steam setting.

Explore this need in the finder →
What tank capacity should be entered for GS59X?

Neither the exact GS59L product page nor the official booklet covering GS59 and GS59X gives a numeric reservoir volume. The page calls the reservoir generous, but that wording cannot satisfy a hard ounce minimum; capacity remains unknown.

Explore this need in the finder →
What is the practical difference between the GS59X and the blue GS38R page?

The separate pages identify the blue product as Model Number GS38R with a 7.3-ounce tank and up to 15 minutes, while this champagne product is GS59X with five settings and up to 20 minutes but no published tank volume. Their similar creaser/attachment language does not establish identical capacity or a merged product record.

Explore this need in the finder →

The champagne Conair Steam & Press with Turbo is listed at a page SKU of GS59L, while the exact product page names GS59X in its Model Number field. The official GS59X booklet also identifies GS59 and GS59X models, so the page SKU and model number can be reported without collapsing this steamer into the separate blue GS38R entry. Conair lists 1,875 watts, five steam settings, a 40-second warm-up and up to 20 minutes of steam per fill. It does not state the tank volume in the reviewed product page or manual. That missing capacity is a real limitation for a shopper with an ounce minimum, even though a time figure is available.

Identity, finish and operating evidence

The product page title is “Steam & Press with Turbo”; its route and structured product SKU use GS59L, and its specifications give Model Number GS59X. The linked GS59L manual path returned 404 during this review, but a separate official Conair GS59X booklet was retrieved and explicitly covers GS59 and GS59X. That booklet is used for shared instructions, while the exact product page remains the source for the page-specific feature list. The model photograph on the exact GS59L page shows a champagne-finish white handheld body and wide head. This is not the blue GS38 page image and does not establish what a seller packs in a box.

The published numbers describe manufacturer claims, not measurements made for this article. Five steam settings let the user select between the lowest setting and Turbo Boost; the booklet says the low end is intended for delicate fabrics and the highest setting for heavier or heavily wrinkled articles. The page’s “up to 20 minutes” is a ceiling, not a guaranteed runtime at Turbo. No steam-output grams-per-minute figure or fabric-by-fabric performance result appears in the reviewed sources.

Hanging steam and the plate are separate considerations

For the matcher, GS59X has a handheld vertical steaming arrangement for hung garments, which does not require a separate horizontal ironing board. The product page also describes a built-in creaser and says its quilted aluminum plate doubles as an iron for a fresh-pressed look. Those features give it more shaping and plate contact than a simple steam nozzle, but the GS59X booklet reviewed here does not specify a dry-iron setting or outline a full flat-board ironing routine. The page’s description should be understood as an iron-like plate capability, not proof that the steamer replaces a conventional iron for every fabric or crease.

Conair lists a 3-in-1 attachment with a silicone band, bristle brush and delicate-fabric spacer. The booklet says only one function is used at a time; these are not simultaneous tools or suction settings. It calls for distilled water and priming after a long idle period. Test an inconspicuous area, keep the steamer moving, never steam clothing while worn and empty the remaining water before storage.

Twenty minutes does not answer tank capacity

The exact page states up to 20 minutes of continuous steam, which supports a 20-minute minimum in the finder as a published maximum. It does not support a 21-minute minimum. That figure is not a measured session duration and may not describe every setting. Neither the exact page nor the GS59-family booklet gives a numeric tank size, so the record cannot confirm a seven-ounce capacity minimum. A reseller’s unrelated attribute table or a look at the tank in a photo is not substituted for manufacturer capacity evidence.

This distinction is particularly useful when comparing GS59X with the blue GS38R. The GS38R page gives 7.3 ounces and up to 15 minutes; the champagne GS59X page gives up to 20 minutes but no volume. It would be tempting to infer that the 20-minute unit has a larger tank, but the source set does not establish that. Conair lists 1,875 watts on GS59X; that value also cannot convert into tank capacity or prove a certain session length. The pages do not establish dual-voltage use, so international shoppers need the exact unit’s electrical label rather than the word “portable.”

Controls, attachments and careful comparisons

Five selectable settings, a creaser and a plate described as iron-like make GS59X a broad handheld garment-care tool. A high setting may be useful for durable fabrics according to the booklet, but it does not mean that delicate silk, trims or heat-sensitive finishes are safe without a test. Conair’s attachment descriptions tell the shopper what the extras are for; they do not prove that the seller includes every accessory. Verify the model code, color and bundle on the exact offer, and use only the attachment combination supported by the manual.

The closest comparison in the reviewed Conair pages is the GS38R, not because the two are the same unit but because both carry the “Steam & Press with Turbo” name and an iron-like head. GS38R is blue, its exact page publishes 7.3 ounces and up to 15 minutes, and it does not state a full setting count. GS59X is champagne, its exact page publishes five settings and up to 20 minutes, but no tank volume. GS23X is another separate handheld: Conair lists two heat settings, a nine-foot cord and up to 15 minutes, with tank volume and voltage unknown. These differences support separate product assessments; they do not create a performance ranking.

Buying checks for GS59X

Look for the GS59X model number and GS59L Conair page/SKU identifier together, and compare the actual champagne configuration and included 3-in-1 attachment with the source description. Do not let a listing for the blue GS38R, another GS59 family suffix or an accessory-only offer stand in for this model. If a minimum tank volume or dual-voltage support is a must-have, the evidence reviewed here cannot verify it. Check the exact rating plate and current instructions before travel, confirm seller package and return terms, and follow the fabric care label and Conair safety directions. This review is an evidence-based reading of the manufacturer materials, not a hands-on performance test.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Operating formatHandheld
Manufacturer-stated steam time per fill20 min
Electrical power1875 W
Removable water tankYes
Manufacturer-stated heat-up40 sec
Published steam settingsvertical steam
Manufacturer-listed steam-level count5 levels
Removable water tankYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare the details that matter to your routine

Use the finder for a requirements-based shortlist, then verify the exact model and package against its instructions.

In this review